Joyful Jeju!

After a long day of travel, we finally arrived in Jeju-do! Jeju is the southernmost, and largest island in South Korea. I began the trip by leaving my wee country village and taking the bus to Daegu for the meet-up. The bus left at 3am so I had to wait from 8pm in Daegu. Another 3 hour ride to the port city of Mokpo, then a 3 1/2 hour ferry ride, and we finally arrived at the Jeju port! Yea, it was a loooong day!  We got in around 2pm the following day.

I came with a tour group, and about 200 other folks, mostly all English teachers. I am rooming with my 2 classmates from Korean class, so at least I know someone on this excursion.

Once we arrived we got on our assigned bus and went to our hotel, which was a 40 minute bus ride away. We pretty much chilled the first day, and relaxed as we did a lot of traveling.

The next day involved a trip to Cheonyijeon waterfalls and several museums. I went to the Teddy Bear museum and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. I saw a real shrunken head and a Teddy Ruxpin! Both entrance fees were 10k won each, or about 9 USD. If you go in with a group of 20 or more, the cost is about 2k won cheaper.With Jeju, you definitely need a car or bus to trek around. Though there are buses and bike trails, a lot of things are still pretty spread out.

Check out some teddy bears!

Leave a Reply

